LISTEN: Beattyville’s Ian Noe drops “Between the Country” from full-length debut

Ian Noe. Photo by Kyler Clark

By Matt Wickstrom

LEXINGTON, Ky. — Beattyville-based singer-songwriter Ian Noe on Friday revealed “Between the Country,” the title track off his full-length debut album out May 31 via Thirty Tigers.

Noe channels the spirit of folk pioneers such as Woody Guthrie, Bob Dylan and countless others on the tune with his intricate storytelling, howling vocals and simple but steady guitar with a touch of new age flare.

Listen to “Between the Country” below.

Recorded at Nashville’s RCA Studio A with Grammy Award-winning producer Dave Cobb (Chris Stapleton, Jason Isbell, Brandi Carlile, Sturgill Simpson), Between The Country includes 10 new songs written solely by Noe (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, vocals), who’s joined by Cobb (acoustic guitar, electric guitar) along with Adam Gardner (bass, organ piano), Chris Powell (drums, percussion) and Savannah Conley (backup vocals).

Noe was recently highlighted on actor Jason Momoa’s YouTube channel (see below) on Jan. 22. The video, which was filmed with the actor in Vancouver, features Noe performing several songs including album tracks “If Today Doesn’t Do Me In” and “Letter To Madeline.” Of Noe, Momoa describes, “I met Ian Noe at dinner the other night not knowing he was a musician or how incredibly talented a musician he is!! I love these spontaneous moments in life and wanted to share the love and share the music.”

The release of Between The Country follows a breakout year for the Kentucky native, whose debut EP, Off This Mountaintop, was released in 2017.

In celebration of the release, Noe will tour extensively this spring and summer including dates with Son Volt, Blackberry Smoke and Jamestown Revival as well as three shows supporting John Prine in Sweden, Norway and Germany. Noe will also perform a special album release show at Nashville’s The Basement on Saturday, June 1 along with a return to the bluegrass on Aug. 10 to perform on the opening day of Railbird Festival at Keeneland in Lexington.

For more information on Noe visit


1. Irene (Ravin’ Bomb)
2. Barbara’s Song
3. Junk Town
4. Letter to Madeline
5. Loving You
6. That Kind Of Life
7. Dead On The River (Rolling Down)
8. If Today Doesn’t Do Me In
9. Meth Head
10. Between The Country


4 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s